©2019 by Contractor's School

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

​

What is a general contractor?

  • A general contractor is responsible for the overall coordination of a project. They are responsible for providing all of the material, labor, equipment, and services necessary for the construction project.

​

Does my work experience count towards a general contracting license?

  • The state of Utah accepts work experience from any time frame, as long as you were working for a licensed contractor.

​

Why does the state of Utah require​ that I obtain a Utah contractor's license for plumbing and electrical or inspecting?

  • The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (D.O.P.L.) is the state agency that controls and regulates state licensing. D.O.P.L. requires a Utah Contractor’s License for electricians, plumbers, inspectors, and all other licensed occupations to protect the general public from fraud, misrepresentation, and safety issues for a Utah contractor’s license.​

​

What is the required work experience for the Utah contractor's license?

  • The state of Utah is now allowing you to self-certify your required work experience on the application for the license.

  • If you are obtaining a general contractor's license, you are required to have a minimum of 2 years working for a licensed contractor, one year in  a supervisory or management position.

  • You may be required to prove the work experience if requested by the state of Utah.

  • The state will accept as proof W-2, K-1's, 1099's, and Handyman license experience.

​

Which Utah Contractor's license should I apply for?​

  • There are over 50 Utah contractor’s license classifications you may apply for. You need to decide which classification is right for you depending on what you have at least 2 years of W-2’ed experience in. Give us a call and we can help you determine which Utah contractor license is best suited to your experience.​

 

Do I need insurance on my company before I submit the application for a contractor's license?

  • YES! All contractors will need general liability insurance on their company before the application is submitted.

​

Does the 30-hour course include the business and law exam?

  • The 30-hour course dedicates the last five hours of the course to teaching the material found on the business and law exam. However, the exam will need to be scheduled with the state-approved testing facility.

​

If I attended the 25 hour course, is the certificate still valid?

  • Yes. The state will accept 25 hour certificates from any time frame, as long as you can provide a valid copy of the certificate from a state-approved provider.

​

Can I upgrade my sub-contracting license to a general contracting license?

  • If you obtained your sub-contracting license before May 9, 2017, you would have taken the business and law exam to receive the license. We can help you easily upgrade your sub-contracting license to a general contracting license. If you obtained the sub-contracting license after May 9, 2017, we can help you with the business and law exam and then help you upgrade your license to a general contractor.

​

Is my contractor's license from another state reciprocal with Utah?​

  • There are a few states that have reciprocity in the sense that you don’t have to take a trade exam if you have had a Utah license for 3 years or more. This is not reciprocity of the actual license, just the trade test.

​

Can I use my Utah contractor's license in another state?

  •  No. Your Utah contractor's license is only valid for work within the state of Utah.

​

Do I need a Social Security Number to get a contractor's license in Utah?

  • Yes. You need a valid social security number and if required, a current Work Authorization card to obtain a Utah contractor's license.

​

Can I use someone else's contractor's license?

  • No. If you are contracting work in Utah, legally the license must be in your company name. If you are working under another contractor, it must be as a sub-contractor with a license.

​

Can someone qualify my license?

  • Yes. You can have a qualifier on your license, as long as that person has a minimum 20% ownership or be paid as a W-2 employee. The person must also fulfill the licensing requirements to be a qualifier.​